Mary

I chose Mary for my first character study because I think she is one of the best examples in the bible of a young person after God’s heart. She was an unmarried teen who loved the lord, and was willing to do anything to please him. Mary was not holy herself but she was trusted with something very holy, baby Jesus.

Now picture this, an angel comes to you and says you are responsible for bringing the savior of mankind into the world. Luke 1: 28; 1:31 “The angel went to her and said, ‘greetings, you who are highly favored! The Lord is with you!”
“You will be with child and give birth to a son, and you are to give him the name Jesus.”
Most of us, including me, would freak out. Most of us don’t even want to be responsible for the dishes.

But Mary’s heart was in the right place. She didn’t say “but what will people think of me being pregnant?!” “but I am not ready yet, can’t this wait?” Nope. She full heartedly accepted God’s plan for her, being unconventional or not, and said “I am the Lord’s servant, May it be to me as you have said.” Her joy was so great she didn’t have time to second guess God or make excuses. She just sang
Luke 1:46-48 “My  soul glorifies the Lord and my spirit rejoices in God my Savior, for he has been mindful of the humble state of his servant.”

I praise her for her first reaction, not her second or third or even fourth. Her first instinct was to please her father. When times are rough and God springs new challenges on us what’s our first reaction? To try to get out of it? Or to follow willingly?

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Gma

     /  October 18, 2011

    Beautiful perspective. I never heard anyone speak about her first reaction–you are so right–she is indeed a good example to follow.
    Our Mary–what a strong and faithful Jew she was–waiting her whole life for her Messiah–and then discovering that she would have the privilege to hold His tiny body in hers. to kiss His soft cheek. Oh Mary–you blessed our Blessing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

