Forever Hold Your Peace

Word.

Remember when that was cool? Just saying the word, word. Personally I always thought it was odd, like ‘I can’t think of any words so I will say word in place of nothing.’ Ever heard of leaving well enough alone?

That’s what this post is about! Leaving well enough alone. One of humans’ biggest fear, and mine as well, is not being heard. Being looked over and never given the time of day. While God will always listen to us, we don’t need to get our point across in every argument we ever partake in. We all know those people and 99% of us have been those people (definitely me!!)

The one who has to have a comeback for everything that’s said. My goodness this is me! I have a hard time letting things go when I’ve been insulted. Its pride and it’s not a Godly character trait but I struggle with. I know a lot of us do.

Proverbs 15:1 says “A gentle answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger” This is true, ever been a situation where someone has lost their head and is yelling at you. The reason at this point shouldn’t matter what is best for both people is for the accused to keep a level head. You can only control your reaction. Don’t say anything you will regret, words can’t be taken back. All of us learn this the hard way unfortunately.

Try this week to answer with a gentle answer, see how things go differently. More often than not, the other person ends up feeling stupid for yelling when they see you have a peace about you. I do know people who just enjoy yelling for the heck of it. But try to see the root of the problem, not just the weed.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Gma

     /  December 7, 2011

    Yeppers.
    I fear that we often think “Speak now, or forever hold your peace”, is an invitation to spill, lest we not be heard.
    I agree with you-and so does Grandpa.
    I remember at one party we were at years ago, when a certain female (don’t think you ever met her) was droning on and on with this complaint and that. Your Grandpa told me afterwards, I sat there quietly, hoping that she would see me and realize how it was possible to just NOT TALK–but she never got it. It was so cute to think of him trying his silence lesson out on her. However–he had a point that your verbose Grandma embarrassingly realized–I HAD BEEN GIVEN PERMISSION FOR UNSPOKEN THOUGHTS.
    Hmm. Imagine that.
    You amaze me.

    Reply
    • Grandpa is a man of few words 🙂 Maybe thats why I love him so. Unspoken thoughts aren’t easy to keep inside. More so when they are witty 😉 Aren’t we all glad that people cant read our minds, we would be in more trouble than we’re worth!

      Reply
  2. Wonderful post!

    One of the things I find myself saying (to myself and kids) ” Just because it can be said doesn’t mean it should.” & “Just because we have free speech, It doesn’t mean we should have loose lips and a sharp tongue.”

    Am I making a statement to helpful or show my (imagined) superiority in a situation.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

