Traditions

Christmas is that time of year when we get to see our family, celebrate the birth of Jesus Christ, and participate in family traditions! While I strongly believe that Christ has gotten lost in this season, I also think it’s important to celebrate him!

In the bible there were parties all the time, feasts, that were normally in remembrance of something, such as Passover. I think celebrating his birth is the best way to show Jesus you remember all he did, by coming to this earth as a baby.So I thought I would share some of my family traditions with you!

The first thing we do to start off our Christmas season is decorate our house, we put up our little nativity scene. This year my little sister out it up. It has been in our house ever since I could remember.

Jesus always gave to the less fortunate in the past years we have done this charity around Christmas. It is one of my favorites because it is so personal! I love going shopping and praying for the little kid who is going to get my shoe-box. It’s a great way to give back to people who don’t have a lot. http://www.helpthechildren.org/hunger-in-our-world/christmas-shoebox?gclid=COqHnIWgiq0CFQkaQgodsVuZlA

Another one (which we just did yesterday) is make a gingerbread house! Its one of my favorites although I don’t think Jesus ever made one, its messy, yummy, and smells wonderful. I always put a C somewhere on the house. The first letter of my name.

We also make cookies for our pastors and mentors in our life, this is another one of my favorites (ok I love them all) it’s a very small way to say thank you! In our family there are always secrets around this time and no one is allowed in anyone else’s closet! Those are a few of my favorite traditions; I would love to hear yours!

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Gma

     /  December 20, 2011

    Christmas at our house has changed over the years.
    When I was a child–I couldn’t wait to set up the manger–ready to fight my brother and sisters for the honor–I was an adult before I realized that no one else ever wanted to do it anyway–but I was ready to go to the mat!
    Later, as a mama–our tradition was to let the kids open one present on Christmas Eve–some years this was tough as we could only afford one gift per child. Happily, there would usually be an auntie or uncle present under the tree that could substitute.
    Now as a grandma–I mostly want any time that I can carve out with my kids and their kids–it really doesn’t seem like Christmas to me when they are off with their large extended families–Nevertheless–This old grandma knows that we share our loved ones–with their loved ones, and I am ever grateful for their lives being full of folks who love them. This year we had a special day–one week before the actual December 25th date–just us and our kids and grand-kids. It was glorious, tasty, and all ours.
    Just what we needed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

