Garden

Take me back to the meadow of sunflowers

Where water was still and the wind had no powers

Might oak trees sheltered our heads

Cool dewy grass provided a bed

 

Where snow fell warm and rain fell silently

Fierce creatures ceased to act violently

When the sun glowed and the moon glistened

All the animals were serene and listened

 

For the hushed footsteps of their master

A forbidden promise, a bite, disaster

Banished from harmony

Sinful and regretful were we

 

Take me back to the days before

When everything was already more

Now water drowns and wind slays

The master knew, it had to be this way

 

 

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Gma

     /  January 13, 2012

    Oh I utterly love this.
    You are a wordsmith–pulling us alongside you.
    I was there.

    Reply
  2. Gma

     /  January 25, 2012

    “Take me back to the days before
    When everything was already more . . .”

    What clarity about our privileged beginnings.
    Nevertheless, I can’t get mad at Adam and Eve–I would’ve probably fallen even quicker.
    Aye–’tis the human condition.
    When choice is available–We choose.
    Lord, help me with my choices.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

