Before Rock Bottom

I have noticed there are types of  non-believers one type of  people who say “I don’t need God, everything is fine and I can take care of myself!”

While I have personally lived through this I was wrong. First off, nothing is ever ‘fine’ without Jesus. I was the master at this, I pretended everything was ‘fine’ for three years. I had everybody fooled, except God.

God knew everything about me, and he knows everything about you! I had to hit ROCK BOTTOM before I came to know Jesus as my Savior, I was stubborn and wanted to do everything my way, but mostly I didn’t want to trust God. I didn’t want to surrender my “control” to him. I put control in quotes, because I know, you can’t keep up the perfect act forever.

As humans we can’t even keep the “I’m ok” act up forever, we need Jesus!   I thought that if I just had everything look good on the outside I would be alright. I could fake it until I was alone. God knew I had to have everything fall apart to cling to him, finally he was the only one left and for the first time I saw him. I saw that he is indescribable, that he loves me, and desires to have my heart no matter my past sin! I found a Psalm that summed up just how close God is to us.

Psalm 139 1-16 “O Lord, you have searched me and you know me. You know when I sit and when I rise; you perceive my thoughts from afar. You discern my going out and my lying down; you are familiar with all my ways. Before a word is on my tongue you know it completely, O Lord. You hem me in- behind and before; you have laid your hand upon me. Such knowledge is too wonderful for me, too lofty for me to attain” (I love that line, because it is 100% true, we will never understand God until heaven)

“Where can I go from your Spirit? Where can I flee from your presence? If I go up to the heavens, you are there; if I make me bed in the depths, you are there. If I rise on the wings of the dawn, if I settle on the far side of the sea, even there your hand will guide me, your right hand will hold me fast.

If I say “Surely the darkness will hide me and the light become night around me,” even the darkness will not be dark to you; the night will shine like the day, for darkness is as light to you.

For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother womb. I praise you for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place. When I was woven together in the depths of the earth. Your eyes saw my unformed body. All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.”

I hope you are close with Jesus in this way, because honestly there is no escaping his love and every knee will bow. I hope you don’t have to hit rock bottom before you realize, Jesus is the only way to live!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Gma

     /  January 25, 2012

    Beautiful.
    Sending hope to our rock bottom dwellers. As you so eloquently pointed out, that is nowhere to live.
    Life.
    Air. Light. Realness.
    They are all up here with Him.

    Reply
  2. Love you dearly

    Reply

Leave a Reply

