Obsessed!!

Our American culture is very interesting to me. A reoccurring theme comes to mind when I think of the way we all live. Idols. The most obvious of theses would be American Idol, now I like watching the singers and performances, but aren’t we setting ourselves up for this one?! It’s in the name, IDOL.

Next is celebrities, which is quite similar to American Idol, they are both people who seem more talented, better looking, or richer than all us normal folk. Media is wonderful for making us feel awful about ourselves. Am I right? Your supposed to look this way, act that way, if you don’t then your just an outsider and frankly… odd.

I am not saying that movie stars are malicious for being beautiful or talented! Not to say either that all this obsessive attention is definitely not helping either one of us. The celebrities or us “commoners” I could give hundreds of examples of famous people whose lives went down the drain, and I’m sure you can think of many as well. Lindsey Lohan… need I say more.

But I’m not here to take digs on all the famous people! My problem is with all of us the way we worship and obsess over these people.. Who are honestly no different from us, they have two arms and ten fingers.

So why do we feel the need to be obsessed?? Because that’s our design, we need something to follow, no I don’t mean on twitter. There is a hole in all of us that we fill with something of our choice. For most Americans it is Idols, not always people. It could be money, drugs, your job, schooling, or whatever you are passionate about!  Some of theses are good and others well… not so good.

No idol is beneficial for us! But as humans we can make anything an idol, decent or destructive. An Idol is anything that fills up your heart that is not God. Anything you are consumed with!

Exodus 20 3-4 “You shall have no other God’s before Me. You shall not make for yourself an idol, or any likeness of what is in heaven above or on the earth beneath or in the water under the earth.”

We can enjoy things, and have hobbies we spend time on, but God told us that nothing is to come before him. My biggest daily struggle is music, I know I listen to it more than I talk to God! We all have our things we don’t want to give up for God. But he is supposed to be first, before our family and friends, and definitely before my music!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Elissa

     /  January 20, 2012

    LOVE! I was talking to my daughter about the difference between actors and celebrities. I told her their job is to help tell a story. Just like a plumbers job is to fix a leaky faucet. If you Live in God and are using the gifts he has given you it doesn’t matter if you’re famous or rich. He will give you happiness standing before millions or fixing a dripping show head. There is no reason to idolize any of them. They are just people like you and me.

    Reply
  2. Gma

     /  January 21, 2012

    Funny, I have watched the first two AI episodes for this season, and these thoughts came to mind.
    God, was the focus of this God-breathed-need injected into all of us–for years and years.
    And then, we silly humans decided to idolize the creation rather than the Creator–and down the slippery slope we shot. Long before AI came the idolization of stars, moon, and sun. So pointless, and really hard–if you think about it. No moon is going to fill my heart with the peace I receive from God. No sun is going to gently turn my head in the right direction–when I don’t know where to turn. The Only One worth worshipping–is YES–our love-filled, boundlessly powerful God of heaven and earth.
    Excellent post Pnut.

    Reply
  3. The name American Idol has bothered me since it began because, as you point out, it puts these people in a higher place than they should be. Popularity is not worth pursuing. Take a look at any of the popular groups from years past and you see how quickly they fade away.

    Reply
  4. Yes and Yes! You know how I hate that those kids go through all they’re going through, and they glorify the sacrifices they’re all making in order to… cure disease? Save the world? No, to be famous! Drives me a little crazy 😀 I love how you say we need something to follow, and not Twitter!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

