Get your foot wash here!

I’ve been going through devotional books, talking to pastors, reading the gospels and what I have noticed about Jesus is he was always serving! He didn’t come in all high and mighty saying “Bring me food peasants!” NO! Jesus showed compassion, he healed the sick, cast out demons, washed his follower’s feet, and fed the 5,000.

John 6: 10-11 “Jesus said, “Have these people sit down,” There was plenty of grass in that place, and the men sat down, about five thousand of them. Jesus took the loaves, gave thanks, and distributed to those who were seated as much as they wanted. He did the same with the fish.” ~ Originally there were only five loaves and two fish; it was Jesus’ prayer that multiplied the food.

John 9:10 “How then were your eyes opened?” they demanded. He replied, “The man they call Jesus made some mud and put it on my eyes. He told me to go to Siloam and wash. So I went and washed, and then I could see.”

Luke 4: 33-36 “ In the synagogue there was a man possessed by the spirit of an unclean demon, and he cried out in a loud voice, “Let us alone! What business do we have with each other, Jesus of Nazareth? Have you come to destroy us? I know who You are- the Holy One of God!” But Jesus rebuked him, saying, “Be quiet and come out of him!” And when the demon had thrown him down in the midst of the people, he came out of him without doing him any harm. And amazement came upon them all, and they began talking with one another saying, “What is this message? For with authority and power He commands the unclean spirits and they come out”

John 13:4-5 “He got up from supper, and laid aside His garment; and taking a towel, He girded Himself. Then He poured water into a basin, and began to wash the disciple’s feet and to wipe them with the towel with which He was girded.”

So you see Jesus served people all the time! If you are more introverted like me then you don’t go around talking to everyone you see. Personally it FREAKS ME OUT to talk to a stranger at all let alone about Jesus. I have had two occasions where I felt the need to say something to this random person, so I did. But it still terrified me. I’m getting better, but serving is a way to jump into a conversation about Jesus. We are to be Christ-like, and in order to do that I think serving is essential!

In our every day life there are so many opportunities to serve one another whether it is surprising your family by doing all the dirty dishes or helping an old lady get the can of soup on the top shelf! Just taking initiative shows people that we are different that if we saw a need, we wouldn’t just keep walking. Are you living your life like the foot-washer Jesus? Or do you scan over small and even big needs everyday.

 

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Gma

     /  February 17, 2012

    Good–PUSH US.
    We often need permission.
    Or a two-by-four upside the head.
    Auto-pilot is death to our witness–unless we are already on the road He paved.
    How many of our own lives have been forever changed by the surprising actions of another? That is one of my favorite character traits of Jesus–He shocked–He was silly–He didn’t stand on ceremony. He simply did the exact right thing at the exact right time. Which is totally possible for us, as well. Just listen to His Holy Spirit–He was left here for that very reason.
    Listen.
    “Whether you turn to the right or the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you saying, THIS IS THE WAY, WALK IN IT.” Isaiah 30:21

    Reply
    • YES! I think it is so funny how we have this wonderful news about how we can all live forever and we don’t say it for no other reason other than, well I’m shy… God shouldn’t have to push me, I’m trying to be less of a turtle and hide in my shell!

      Reply
  2. Fogleman Forerunner

     /  February 17, 2012

    The more you do it, the less it will “freak you out”… 🙂 It’s always easier for me if I can find some small way to serve the person I’m feeling lead to speak to. I’ve had some of the greatest fellowship conversations with total strangers the Lord has lovingly pushed me at. Keep it up. You’re doing great!

    Reply
    • Thanks! Yes I’ve heard it only gets easier 🙂 I’m the type of person who needs a big push!

      Reply
      • Fogleman Forerunner

         /  February 20, 2012

        I so understand that. Sometimes “pushy” friends are good to have… ;’>

  3. if they are pushing you to the right things!! Then Yes I would agree

    Reply

Leave a Reply

