Just for us Girls

Today is international women’s day! I can hear all the guys going “Ugh come on that is NOT a real day!” But it is and this post is just for that! (Sorry guys)

It is true that the Bible mostly features men HOWEVER it does give women many commands as well as the men, Jesus showed just as much compassion to the women in the bible as he did the men! A great example is the woman who washed Jesus’ feet with her own hair and perfume!

~ Luke 7:36-50

Another one is the woman at the well

~John 4: 1-26

Or the woman with a bleeding problem who was healed just by touching the hem of Jesus’ garment.

~Mark 5:21- 34

All of these show how wonderful Jesus is; he gave us the model of how we are to be as people, but what about how we are supposed to be as women? Proverbs 31 explains it for us, it tells all the Characteristics of a noble wife, I’m not a wife and you might not be either but verse 30 and 31 are to all women of any age, stage, or mind-set.

~Proverbs 31:30-31 “Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised. Give her the reward she has earned, and let her works bring her praise at the city gate.”

Charm is a power; you have to choose your side. Beauty, for what its worth, doesn’t last, we will all be little wrinkled old ladies one day if we are lucky. The only thing God looks at is our hearts, not if we are doing our hair in the latest fashion!

It is so easy to get sucked into the mind-set of plowing through life on strictly women power and forget the men! I strongly believe that feminism killed the family! But that is just my opinion and I DO believe however that we are equal! The media will tell us we are superior… well aren’t we just as bad as the men for thinking that way? Just my thoughts. God told us to be compassionate and homemakers, eager workers and providers! We aren’t called to be slaves to the men either, but equals!

Proverbs 31: 20 “She opens her arms to the poor and extends her hands to the needy.”

Proverbs 31:27 “She watches over the affairs of the household and does not eat the bread of idleness”

Proverbs 31: 13” She selects wool and flax and works with eager hands”

Proverbs 31:25 “She is clothed with strength and dignity; she can laugh at the days to come.”

Today is international women’s day and I hope that all the Christian women read over Proverbs 31 and see how God intended us to be! Not less or more powerful than the men, just different roles for the greater of the kingdom of God!

I can’t wait to be a homemaker one day!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Sarah

     /  May 19, 2012

    Hello Ms. LuminosityBlog,
    I really admire your bravery to decide to put your interpretation of the Bible on the internet. I think that it is wonderful that your voice (especially as a woman, because women are often underrepresented on the topic of Christianity and religion) can be heard speaking about God, Jesus, spirituality and religion. I found your blog by accident and thought your interpretations were interesting. However, this post made me sad. My name is Sarah and I am 16. I would label myself as a feminist because I believe in and fight for women’s equality and health. I find this post sad because I do not think that Jesus thought of women as only being homemakers–I think that is a projection of modern perceptions of being a good “wife”. I don’t think that feminism or homosexuality kill “the family”. To me, a good wife (or husband) is someone who loves, cares for, and supports her family and community. Personally, I think that the bible is not God’s word because Jesus was dead when it was written. I think that the main lessons Jesus gave us are all that one needs to be seen by God with love, compassion, and empathy. To me, those lessons are to show love and forgiveness, to give God thanks for your being and everything you have, to honor God and Jesus for all things they have given, and the ways they taught and guided us and to sacrifice for what you believe in. My disagreement with your idea of men and women having different but equal roles is that I do not believe that you can separate two groups and say they are getting equal treatment. Certainly, I believe we are all equal to God, but that does not mean we are equal on earth or seen as equal by other humans. Each of us are individuals, so we should be able to serve God and other humans in the way we best can. If that means being a homemaker, then that is wonderful. But if being a homemaker is the only option women have, I don’t think that means that we are serving our community. My mom works helping companies that are doing wonderful things (like curing cancer!) raise money and by watching her do that, I know that I can make a difference in the world. I also know I have her support, whether that means watching me at a track meet, giving me advice and encouraging me, or cooking for my family. Those are roles she is great at and roles that she chose, equal to what my dad does for me and my family, and for the world. If you become a homemaker, that is wonderful–you will be able to support you family and serve God in that way. It is my opinion, however, that there are many diverse people, so there are many ways we can serve God, other people, living creatures, and the earth. Perhaps, we can continue this discussion– if you would like. I would like to hear more about why you think about feminists and homemakers in the way you do. Do you agree that there are core lessons in the Bible and that others are perhaps less important? Do you think that everything the Bible says is equally important? I’m curious– keep sharing your thoughts– diversity of opinions and beliefs are what makes the world interesting!

    Reply
  2. Well thank you first off, I’m always glad when I get new readers. About your statement “I do not think that Jesus thought of women as only being homemakers” I did not use the word only in my post because I don’t believe that either! Look at Esther she saved her people or Deborah, the judge. I know God doesn’t only use women for the purpose of homemaking; however I do believe this is the most rewarding job. I stand by my statement that I think feminism killed the family. I know that women are equal to men, but as I said in my post, not superior and that’s what I personally see happening a lot. Women thinking, because they are women they are smarter or better. This idea of super feminism, running solely on women power! This is what I was talking about. To me a good wife, is what the bible says a good wife is, in proverbs 31, it can explain it better than I could! About your statement that the bible is not God’s word because Jesus was dead when it was written, well I could not more strongly disagree. Jesus is very much alive! Luke 24: 5 “Why do you look for the living among the dead? He is not here; he has risen!” Jesus had to die for our sins but he rose because he is Jesus, all powerful God of the universe. But he is with God in heaven
    Romans 8:34 “Who is he that condemns? Christ Jesus, who died- more than that, who was raised to life- is as the right hand of God”
    About your statement that I do not believe that you can separate two groups and say they are getting equal treatment. I also disagree because God says that when a marriage happens the two become one, working together. Ephesians 5:31 “For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and the two will be become one flesh.”
    I do believe everyone has a specific and different calling! Like I said about Esther! God used her. But God does call women to be moms, because who else can fill that role? Of course women can do other things beside this!
    I believe that ALL the lessons in the bible are from God and that we should take them all seriously and obey them.
    2 Timothy 3:16 “All scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting, and training in righteousness.”
    Thank you for your questions, they made me think!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

