Bandwagon fan?

This has been my verse the last couple weeks!

1 Peter 8-9 “Be self-controlled and alert. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour. Resist him, standing firm in the faith, because you know your brothers throughout the world are undergoing the same kind of suffering.”

All this week and last I have been hearing about suffering, through my youth leaders, my own personal quiet time and even on commercials and things like that. What I have seen is that the world view of how to deal with suffering and the bibles view on how to deal and understand suffering are very different.

The world says that we should be happy and that anything that makes us happy is good! There is no absolute right or wrong, happiness is something different for everyone, and you shouldn’t have to go through hard times! Right now I want to talk about the last one the mind set of ‘Bad things shouldn’t happen to me!’

Romans 5:3-5 “Not only so, but we also rejoice in out sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance, perseverance, character; and character hope. And hope does not disappoint us, because God has poured put his love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom he has given us.”

It is easy to love God when everything is peaches and cream! God uses suffering to bring us closer! Like my youth pastor said once “No one grows in good times” it’s true! If we never go through trials and hard rough patches how are we going to cling to God? God never promised us that being a Christian would be easy!

Luke 9:23-24 “Then he said to them all: “If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me. For whoever wants to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for me will save it.”

Being a Christian is completely laying down your will and letting Jesus take over. Suffering is a part of this; the world will hate us for following Jesus.

1st John 3:13 “Do not be surprised, my brothers, if the world hates you.” Are you a bandwagon Christian, only following Jesus when it’s easy? Or do you cling to Him even when it’s painful?

We can choose joy in the midst of suffering by giving our troubles to God!

 

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Gma

     /  May 5, 2012

    Joy in the midst of suffering.
    This is the big Christian secret.
    Many believe it to be false–a SHOW–if you will.
    And maybe for some–it is.
    Nevertheless–
    Truly, deeply, madly–I have joy.
    Always.
    Not the giddy, JEEPERS, GULL WILIKERS! joy–(although many a day is painted that way)–But the stabilizing assured-ness that God has a plan and I am part of it.

    Reply
  2. I don’t know if you have ever heard of Brother Lawrence, but in either case, he once said it like this, “He (God) often sends diseases of the body to cure those of the soul” This relates well. I also believe you are right on with this, especially choosing joy in suffering. Joy is different than happiness also, which I think people get confused. It is Christ who becomes our joy and in Him we face whatever comes. Does your youth pastor read what you write here? I think it is great!

    Reply
    • I don’t think my youth pastor reads it 😛 He is a busy man! Thanks so much! You are spot on with Joy being different than being happy!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

