I’m read for my close-up

Are you a good actor or actress? You might answer right away with a sounding YES or NO! For this post I will be talking to the ‘No way Jose!’ type people. You know who you are the person who freezes on stage and runs off.

But I’m not talking about the acting on Broadway, or even your local theater. I’m talking about every day, are you playing a character for your different social groups? Or are you, YOU no matter who is watching.

1 peter 2:12 “Live such good lives among the pagans that, though they accuse you of doing wrong, they may see your good deeds and glorify God on that day he visits us.”

We are supposed to be different. I know teenagers hate anything that makes them different, we hope to blend and be looked over. I lived like that for about four years. I was beige, a cookie-cutter average teen. I didn’t have a radical faith or try to win my friends for Jesus.

I’m not something special now, but I have something wonderful inside of me, Jesus! I hope people can see that. I still slip! More than I would like to! I act like the world and think nothing of it, our culture may change but God’s standards don’t.

I can’t count how many times I have heard this excuse “Well the bible was written a long time ago, things are different now.”

Ecclesiastes 3:14 “I know that everything God does will remain forever; there is nothing to add to it and there is nothing to take from it, for God has so worked that men should fear Him.”

We strive to be like God, His standards never change, and neither should ours.  I will be the first to admit that it is so easy to act like the people you are around, teens in particular struggle with this, I know I do! It’s hard to be the ‘only one’ doing, or not doing something.

This is why integrity is so important; you can be a great actress. Play church and be a ‘good person’ but if the spotlight was on you any other day than Sunday what would that look like?

Imagine prince charming has just finished his big number; he runs back stage and pulls off his mask to reveal his beastly face! The spotlight shines through the curtain and he is exposed for what he really is, an actor.

He certainly wasn’t ready for his close up! If you are playing the ‘good person’ maybe you need to clean some stuff out of your life so you can live an honestly pure life to glorify God.

1 Chronicles 29:17 “I know my God, that you test the heart and are pleased with integrity. All these things I have given willingly and with honest intent. And now I have seen with joy how willingly your people who are here have given to you.”

Don’t walk around playing a part, God’s not impressed. Give God what he so deserves, your integrity.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Gma

     /  August 29, 2012

    Great title–Really says it all.
    You amaze me–these thoughts don’t often occur to folks many decades older than you–God has indeed instilled in you–a wisdom to be reckoned with.
    I used to tell our youth group–God looks right past your cool pants, your trendy hair, your lushly made-up eyes–piously closed during prayer–seeing straight into your heart. This is where our truth lies.
    All that outside stuff–just lies.
    Keep reminding us, baby—He gave you these words–for us.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

